Access keys

Skip to content Accessibility Home News, events and publications Site map Search Privacy policy Help Contact us Terms of use

Fellowship mentoring programme

Mentoring forms an important part of the support provided by BBSRC to our fellows. Our mentoring programme includes members of Committee E and those who previously held BBSRC fellowships.

Mentoring is a key mechanism through which research organisations can support the fellows they host. In addition to the mentoring available through their host institutions, our fellows are enrolled on a BBSRC mentoring programme that matches them to an additional mentor who is external to their host organisation. Our mentoring programme is guided by our recent review of academic mentoring best practice (see related links).

Discovery Fellows (formerly Future Leader Fellows) can select from a range of mentors who are previous holders of BBSRC fellowships, while a member of BBSRC Committee E can be selected by David Phillips Fellows to act as their mentor.

We are extremely grateful to the time these mentors commit to the fellowship mentoring programme.

Discovery Fellows (formerly Future Leader Fellows)

Chris Bass – University of Exeter
Chris Chambers – Cardiff University
Megan Davey – The Roslin Institute, The University of Edinburgh
Peter Eastmond – Rothamsted Research
Samuel Fountain – University of East Anglia
Lynda Harris – The University of Manchester
Catherine Jopling – University of Nottingham
Robert Knight – King's College London
Gareth Lavery – University of Birmingham
David Lyons – The University of Edinburgh
Vicky MacCrae – The Roslin Institute, The University of Edinburgh
Carolyn Moores – Birkbeck College, London
Daniel Nussey – The University of Edinburgh
Matthew Edward Rogers – London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine
Christian Rutz – University of St Andrews
Mark Webber – Quadram Institute
Alastair Wilson – University of Exeter
Andrew Young – University of Exeter

Mentors available to David Phillips Fellows

Roslyn Bill – Aston University
Alexandra Brand – University of Aberdeen
Shireen Davies – University of Glasgow
Seth Davis – University of York
Denise Fitzgerald – Queen's University Belfast
Anthony Flemming – Syngenta
David Jones – University College London
Erika Mancini – University of Sussex
Helen Osborn – University of Reading
Nick Roberts – University of Bristol
Frank Sargent – Newcastle University
Chris van der Walle – MedImmune
Sean Ward – Synthace Ltd
Sivaramesh Wigneshweraraj – Imperial College London