Access keys

Skip to content Accessibility Home News, events and publications Site map Search Privacy policy Help Contact us Terms of use

BBSRC congratulates members of the bioscience community who are recognised in the New Year's Honours list 2018

BBSRC congratulates members of the bioscience community, including BBSRC researchers and panel members, who are recognised in the New Year's Honours list 2018

The New Year's Honours recognise individuals for their service to the United Kingdom.

“We applaud the members of our research and innovation community who have been recognised in the 2018 New Year’s Honours list. These honours acknowledge the commitment they have made to science, innovation and discovery in the bioscience field. I offer my sincere congratulations to each recipient and look forward to another year of inspiring work,” said Professor Melanie Welham, Chief Executive, Biotechnology and Biological Sciences Research Council.

Officer of the Order of the British Empire

  • Dr Tina Lorraine Barsby: Chief Executive and Director, National Institute of Agricultural Botany, Dr Barsby received her OBE for services to UK Agricultural Science and Biotechnology. Dr Barsby was the principal investigator for the BBSRC-funded Cambridge-India network for translational research in nitrogen, and co-investigator for a research project examining grass peas and their potential for sustainable sustenance for stressful environments. Dr Barsby has a long and close association with BBSRC spanning at least 15 years, having served as Chair of BBSRC Responsive Mode Committee B, and as a member of the strategic advisory and peer review panels.

Commander of the Order of the British Empire

  • Professor Martyn Christopher Davies: Professor of Biomedical Surface Chemistry, The University of Nottingham, Professor Davies received his CBE for services to Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences. Professor Davies was co-investigator for the BBSRC-funded project Measurement and identification of glycans on arrays and nanoparticles, led by The University of Nottingham.
  • Professor Cristl Ann Donnelly, FRS: Professor of Statistical Epidemiology, Imperial College London, received her CBE for services to Epidemiology and the Control of Infectious Diseases. Professor Donnelly has served as co-investigator for several BBSRC awards, and was the principal investigator for a project developing rigorous design and analytical framework for the evaluation of transgenic insects for use in the control of insect-borne disease at Imperial College, London.
  • Robin Lovell-Badge: Group Leader and Head of the Division of Stem Cell Biology and Developmental Genetics, The Francis Crick Institute. Robin received his CBE for services to genetics and stem cell research. He is currently the principal investigator on the BBSRC-funded project Sex-determining mechanisms in the chick, which aims to understand the series of molecular events that determine whether the embryonic gonad develops as a testis or as an ovary.

For a full list of 2018's New Year's Honours visit: GOV.UK: New Year's Honours list 2018 (PDF)



BBSRC invests in world-class bioscience research and training on behalf of the UK public. Our aim is to further scientific knowledge, to promote economic growth, wealth and job creation and to improve quality of life in the UK and beyond.

Funded by government, BBSRC invested £469 million in world-class bioscience in 2016-17. We support research and training in universities and strategically funded institutes. BBSRC research and the people we fund are helping society to meet major challenges, including food security, green energy and healthier, longer lives. Our investments underpin important UK economic sectors, such as farming, food, industrial biotechnology and pharmaceuticals.

More information about BBSRC, our science and our impact.
More information about BBSRC strategically funded institutes.

Tags: people skills and training news