Access keys

Skip to content Accessibility Home News, events and publications Site map Search Privacy policy Help Contact us Terms of use

2016 BBSRC Innovator of the Year finalists announced

Copyright: BBSRC

The shortlisted finalists for the 2016 BBSRC Innovator of the Year competition have been announced (see box below for full list).

The nine finalists will compete to be named Innovator of the Year 2016 at Fostering Innovation in London on 18 May 2016. Watch the video below for a brief summary of each entry.


Innovator of the Year 2016 finalists

Principal investigator Research organisation Title
Andrew Almond The University of Manchester C4X Discovery: optimising the design and development of medicines and partnering with the pharmaceutical sector
Tom Brown University of Oxford Extending the boundaries of nucleic acid chemistry
Sheena Cruickshank The University of Manchester Increasing awareness and dialogue around Infection and Immunology in Local and Global Communities
Gary Frost & Douglas Morrison Imperial College London & University of Glasgow Inulin propionate ester: a novel food ingredient to prevent weight gain
Cait MacPhee & Nicola Stanley-Wall The University of Edinburgh & University of Dundee A smart protein for use in multiphase formulations
Graeme Milligan University of Glasgow Accelerating translation of poorly characterised G protein-coupled receptors towards new medicines
Toby Mottram Royal Agricultural University Milkalyser: Biosensing and Internet of Things for field sensing of dairy cow fertility
Martin Pule UCL Cancer Institute Logic Gated CAR T-cells (Autolus)
Barrie Rooney University of Kent Rapid 'dipstick' test tackles fatal sleeping sickness



UK Research and Innovation Media Office

Tags: awards innovation Innovator of the Year news video