Access keys

Skip to content Accessibility Home News, events and publications Site map Search Privacy policy Help Contact us Terms of use

Research Committee E

Responsible for the award of fellowships and other personal awards and providing key mentoring support to BBSRC fellows. Members are expected to be well respected within their field and to have demonstrable interest in supporting career development.

Research Committee E will:

  • undertake the peer review of fellowships and other personal awards, and applications for other people movement schemes according to BBSRC processes and best practice, and to provide recommendations for awards to BBSRC Executive
  • provide mentoring, support and regular feedback to fellows through face-to-face visits and meetings, through the annual progress update system and attendance at fellows' induction seminars and the biennial fellows conference organised by BBSRC
  • provide input to BBSRC and its Strategy Advisory Panels and sub-groups on the recommendations it makes on the award of fellowships and other personal awards.

Research Committee E will also be represented on:

  • Research Advisory Panel through the Chair of the Committee
  • Fellowship Progress Review Group, reporting to Bioscience Skills and Careers Strategy Advisory Panel
  • cross-council Fellowships Panels
  • Training Grant Assessment Panels.

It meets twice a year:

  • April or May - Fellowship annual progress updates
  • October - Fellowship schemes interview shortlisting

Additionally fellowship interviews involving members take place twice a year:

  • November - Discovery Fellowships interviews
  • December - David Phillips Fellowships interviews


We aim to have 16 members (including the Chair):

Richard Bardgett (Chair) - The University of Manchester
Wendy Nicholson (Deputy Chair) - EDYN Creative Ltd
Roslyn Bill - Aston University
Alexandra Brand - University of Aberdeen
Steve Busby - University of Birmingham
Shireen Davies - University of Glasgow
David Jones - University College London
Erika Mancini - University of Sussex
Steve Oliver - University of Cambridge
Helen Osborn - University of Reading
Alan Raybould - Syngenta
Nick Roberts - University of Bristol
Greg Tucker - The University of Nottingham
Sean Ward - Synthace Ltd
Sivaramesh Wigneshweraraj - Imperial College London
(One vacancy - on hold at present)

Meeting dates


  • 10 May
  • 17-18 October
  • 15-16 November (Discovery Fellowship interviews)
  • 6-7 December (David Phillips Fellowship interviews)


  • 3 May
  • 4-5 October
  • 8-9 November (Future Leader Fellowship interviews)
  • 4-5 December (David Phillips Fellowship interviews)


  • 22-23 March
  • 5-6 May (David Phillips Fellowship interviews - last time under former timetable)
  • 13-14 October
  • 15-16 November (Future Leader Fellowship interviews)
  • 8-9 December (David Phillips Fellowship interviews)


  • 23 March
  • 30 April-1 May (fellowship interviews)
  • 15-16 October
  • 12-13 November (fellowship interviews)
  • 15 December