Access keys

Skip to content Accessibility Home News, events and publications Site map Search Privacy policy Help Contact us Terms of use

Research Committee D

Molecules, cells and industrial biotechnology

For research topics covered by each Research Committee and to apply for funding visit our Responsive mode research grants and How to apply pages (see related links).

Core members

Professor David Stephens (Chair) - University of Bristol
Dr Bernadette Byrne (Deputy Chair) - Imperial College London
Dr Steven Russell (Deputy Chair) - University of Cambridge

Professor Kathryn Ayscough - The University of Sheffield
Dr Namdar Baghaei-Yazdi - Biotech Consultants Limited
Dr Clair Baldock - The University of Manchester
Professor Gary Black - Northumbria University
Dr Anastasia Callaghan - University of Portsmouth
Dr Michelangelo Campanella - Royal Veterinary College
Dr Martin Cann - Durham University
Dr Sonia AL Correa - University of Bradford
Dr Ben Davis - Vernalis Research Ltd
Professor Claire Eyers - University of Liverpool
Professor Sabine Flitsch - The University of Manchester
Professor Jane Grasby - The University of Sheffield
Dr Nicholas Harmer - University of Exeter
Dr Phillip Thomas Hawkins - Babraham Institute
Dr Lars Jeuken - University of Leeds
Professor Venkateswarlu Kanamarlapudi - Swansea University
Dr Peter Levison - Pall Life Sciences
Professor Michael McPherson - University of Leeds
Dr Neil Press - Novartis Institutes for Biomedical Research
Dr David Scott - The University of Nottingham
Professor Louise Serpell - University of Sussex
Professor Stephen Tucker - University of Oxford
Professor Geerten Vuister - University of Leicester
Dr Kevin Wright - Procter & Gamble Technical Centres Ltd.

For a list of members who attended the last three meetings visit our Recent grant awards page (see related links).

Meeting dates


  • 12-13 February


  • 13-14 February
  • 23-24 May
  • 19-20 September


  • 7-8 February
  • 16-17 May
  • 19-20 September


  • 2-3 February
  • 11-12 May
  • 22-23 September


  • 18-19 February
  • 21-22 May
  • 16-17 September