Access keys

Skip to content Accessibility Home News, events and publications Site map Search Privacy policy Help Contact us Terms of use

Research Committee B

Plants, microbes, food and sustainability

For research topics covered by each Research Committee and to apply for funding visit our Responsive mode research grants and How to apply pages (see related links).

Core members

Professor Philip Gilmartin - University of Hull (Chair) 
Professor Elizabeth Baggs - University of Edinburgh (Deputy Chair)
Professor Mark Banfield - John Innes Centre (Deputy Chair)
Professor Dawn Arnold - Harper Adams University
Dr Alison Bentley - National Institute of Agricultural Botany
Professor Michael Blatt - University of Glasgow
Professor Martha Clokie - University of Leicester
Dr Susanne Gebhard - University of Bath
Professor Daniel Gibbs - University of Birmingham
Dr Miriam Gifford - University of Warwick
Professor Karen Halliday - University of Edinburgh
Dr Robert Hancock - The James Hutton Institute
Professor Ian Henderson - University of Cambridge
Professor Jane Langdale - University of Oxford
Professor Eshwar Mahenthiralingam - Cardiff University
Professor Petra Oyston - Defence Science and Technology Laboratory
Professor John Runions - Oxford Brookes University
Professor Liz Sockett - University of Nottingham
Professor Andrew Thompson - Cranfield University
Professor Mahmut Tör - University of Worcester
Professor Xiangming Xu - East Malling Research    

For a list of members who attended the last three meetings visit our Recent grant awards page (see related links).

Meeting dates


  • 12-13 February
  • 22-23 May
  • 25-26 September


  • 13-14 February
  • 23-24 May
  • 19-20 September


  • 7-8 February
  • 16-17 May
  • 19-20 September


  • 2-3 February
  • 11-12 May
  • 22-23 September