Access keys

Skip to content Accessibility Home News, events and publications Site map Search Privacy policy Help Contact us Terms of use

Science contacts

Contacts for responsive mode priorities
Science area contacts


If you have any queries regarding our responsive mode priorities, please use this contact list:

Contacts for responsive mode priorities

Responsive mode priority Contact Email Phone Strategic priority area
Animal health Ceri-Wyn Thomas ceri-wyn.thomas@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 413350 Sustainable Agriculture and Food,
Bioscience for health
Bioenergy: generating new replacement fuels for a greener, sustainable future Roderick Westrop roderick.westrop@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 413332 Industrial biotechnology and bioenergy
Combatting antimicrobial resistance Colin Miles colin.miles@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 413359 Sustainable Agriculture and Food,
Bioscience for health,
Industrial biotechnology and bioenergy
Data driven biology Richard Brown Richard.Brown@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 413218 Transformative Technologies
Energy Roderick Westrop roderick.westrop@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 413332 Partnerships
Food, nutrition and health - Nutrition Louisa Jenkin louisa.jenkin@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 413352 Sustainable Agriculture and Food,
Bioscience for health
Food, nutrition and health - Food safety Andrew Hellewell andrew.hellewell@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 414686 Sustainable Agriculture and Food,
Bioscience for health
Food, nutrition and health - Nutritional enhancement Andrew Hellewell andrew.hellewell@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 414686 Sustainable Agriculture and Food,
Bioscience for health
Global Food Security Programme Riaz Bhunnoo riaz.bhunnoo@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 442194 Partnerships
Healthy ageing across the lifecourse Lydia Gardner lydia.gardner@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 413386 Bioscience for health,
Partnerships
Integrative microbiome research Peter Burlinson peter.burlinson@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 413393 Sustainable Agriculture and Food,
Bioscience for health,
Industrial biotechnology and bioenergy,
Transformative Technologies
New strategic approaches to industrial biotechnology Colin Miles colin.miles@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 413359 Industrial biotechnology and bioenergy
Reducing waste in the food chain Hasna Zaher hasna.zaher@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 414669 Sustainable Agriculture and Food
The replacement, refinement and reduction (3Rs) in research using animals Luke Williams luke.williams@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 413318 Partnerships
Sustainably enhancing agricultural production Kerry Firth kerry.firth@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 442526 Sustainable Agriculture and Food
Synthetic biology Jamie Parkin jamie.parkin@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 413202 Transformative Technologies
Systems approaches to the biosciences Jamie Parkin jamie.parkin@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 413202 Transformative Technologies
Technology development for the biosciences Natalya Zavina-James natalya.zavina-james@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 442518 Transformative Technologies
Welfare of managed animals Luke Williams luke.williams@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 413318 Partnerships

If you have any queries regarding areas of science within our remit, please use this contact list:

Science area contacts

"
Science area Contact Email Phone
Ageing Lydia Gardner lydia.gardner@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 413386
Agriculture Jamie Stone saf@bbsrc.ukri.org -
Agri-engineering and precision agriculture Hasna Zaher hasna.zaher@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 414669
Animal diseases (excluding FBZ and TSEs) Ceri-Wyn Thomas ceri-wyn.thomas@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 413350
Animal welfare Luke Williams luke.williams@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 413318
Anti-microbial resistance Stephen Webb stephen.webb@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 413279
Aquaculture Andrew Hellewell andrew.hellewell@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 414686
Artificial Intelligence Daniela Hensen daniela.hensen@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 413240
Biochemistry Elizabeth Saunders elizabeth.saunders@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 413324
Bioenergy Colin Miles colin.miles@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 413359
Bioimaging Ellie Lech eleanor.Lech@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 412719
Bioinformatics and e-Science Richard Brown Richard.Brown@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 413218
Cell biology Jennifer Swarbrick jennifer.swarbrick@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 413392
Crop science Hasna Zaher hasna.zaher@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 414669
Developmental biology To be confirmed bfh@bbsrc.ukri.org -
Diet and health (humans) Louisa Jenkin louisa.jenkin@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 413352
Ecosystems including agri-ecosystems Kerry Firth kerry.firth@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 442526
Engineering and physical sciences interface Peter Burlinson peter.burlinson@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 413393
Engineering biology Jamie Parkin jamie.parkin@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 413202
Environmental science Debbie Harding debbie.harding@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 414653
Epigenetics Louisa Jenkin louisa.jenkin@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 413352
Facilities - Sequencing Jamie Parkin jamie.parkin@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 413202
Facilities - Computing Richard Brown Richard.Brown@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 413218
Facilities - STFC based Colin Miles colin.miles@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 413359
Food security Jamie Stone saf@bbsrc.ukri.org -
Food waste Hasna Zaher hasna.zaher@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 414669
Horticulture Hasna Zaher hasna.zaher@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 414669
Industrial biotechnology Roderick Westrop roderick.westrop@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 413332
Insect pollination Debbie Harding debbie.harding@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 414653
Livestock production Kirsty Dougal kirsty.dougal@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 413229
Immunology Melissa Lennartz-Walker melissa.lennartz-walker@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 442195
Mental health Lydia Gardner lydia.gardner@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 413386
Microbial food safety (inc TSEs) Andrew Hellewell andrew.hellewell@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 414686
Microbiology Peter Burlinson peter.burlinson@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 413393
Multi-Scale Biology Peter Burlinson peter.burlinson@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 413393
Nanotechnology Natalya Zavina-James natalya.zavina-james@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 442518
Neuroscience and behaviour (including human psychology) Melissa Lennartz-Walker melissa.lennartz-walker@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 442195
Nutritional enhancement of crops/animals and food Andrew Hellewell andrew.hellewell@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 414686
Omic’s technologies: genomics, proteomics and metabolomics etc. Natalya Zavina-James natalya.zavina-james@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 442518
One health Ceri-Wyn Thomas ceri-wyn.thomas@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 413350
Pharmaceuticals Alex Amey alex.amey@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 413254
Plant science (including trees) Debbie Harding debbie.harding@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 414653
Regenerative biology Luke Williams luke.williams@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 413318
Soil science Debbie Harding debbie.harding@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 414653
Stem cells Luke Williams luke.williams@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 413318
Structural biology Jennifer Swarbrick jennifer.swarbrick@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 413318
Sustainable intensification of agriculture and food Kerry Firth kerry.firth@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 442526
Systematics and taxonomy Amanda Read amanda.read@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 414665
Systems biology Jamie Parkin jamie.parkin@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 413202
Technology and methods development Natalya Zavina-James natalya.zavina-james@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 442518
The 3 Rs (replacement, reduction and refinement of animals in research) Luke Williams luke.williams@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 413318