Access keys

Skip to content Accessibility Home News, events and publications Site map Search Privacy policy Help Contact us Terms of use

Science contacts

Contacts for responsive mode priorities
Science area contacts


If you have any queries regarding our responsive mode priorities, please use this contact list:

Contacts for responsive mode priorities

Responsive mode priority Contact Email Phone Strategic priority area
Animal health Ceri-Wyn Thomas ceri-wyn.thomas@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 413350 Agriculture and food security,
Bioscience for health
Bioenergy: generating new replacement fuels for a greener, sustainable future Roderick Westrop roderick.westrop@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 413332 Industrial biotechnology and bioenergy
Combatting antimicrobial resistance Colin Miles colin.miles@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 413359 Agriculture and food security,
Bioscience for health,
Industrial biotechnology and bioenergy
Data driven biology Daniela Hensen Daniela.Hensen@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 413240 Exploiting new ways of working
Energy Roderick Westrop roderick.westrop@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 413332 Partnerships
Food, nutrition and health - Nutrition Louisa Jenkin louisa.jenkin@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 413352 Agriculture and food security,
Bioscience for health
Food, nutrition and health - Food safety To be confirmed - - Agriculture and food security,
Bioscience for health
Food, nutrition and health - Nutritional enhancement To be confirmed - - Agriculture and food security,
Bioscience for health
Global Food Security Programme Riaz Bhunnoo riaz.bhunnoo@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 442194 Partnerships
Healthy ageing across the lifecourse Melissa Lennartz-Walker melissa.lennartz-walker@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 442195 Bioscience for health,
Partnerships
Integrative microbiome research Richard Brown richard.brown@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 413218 Agriculture and food security,
Bioscience for health,
Industrial biotechnology and bioenergy,
Exploiting New Ways of Working
New strategic approaches to industrial biotechnology Colin Miles colin.miles@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 413359 Industrial biotechnology and bioenergy
Reducing waste in the food chain To be confirmed - - Agriculture and food security
The replacement, refinement and reduction (3Rs) in research using animals Luke Williams luke.williams@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 413318 Partnerships
Sustainably enhancing agricultural production Kirsty Dougal kirsty.dougal@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 413229 Agriculture and food security
Synthetic biology Jamie Parkin jamie.parkin@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 413202 Exploiting new ways of working
Systems approaches to the biosciences Jamie Parkin jamie.parkin@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 413202 Exploiting new ways of working
Technology development for the biosciences Daniela Hensen daniela.hensen@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 413240 Exploiting new ways of working
Welfare of managed animals Luke Williams luke.williams@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 413318 Partnerships

If you have any queries regarding areas of science within our remit, please use this contact list:

Science area contacts

Science area Contact Email Phone
Ageing Melissa Lennartz-Walker melissa.lennartz-walker@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 442195
Agriculture Agriculture and Food Security Sector afs@bbsrc.ukri.org -
Agri-engineering and precision agriculture Harriet Trewin harriet.trewin@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 413190
Animal diseases (excluding FBZ and TSEs) Ceri-Wyn Thomas ceri-wyn.thomas@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 413350
Animal welfare Luke Williams luke.williams@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 413318
Anti-microbial resistance To be confirmed - -
Aquaculture To be confirmed bfh@bbsrc.ukri.org -
Biochemistry Elizabeth Saunders elizabeth.saunders@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 413324
Bioenergy Colin Miles colin.miles@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 413359
Bioimaging Daniela Hensen daniela.hensen@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 413240
Bioinformatics and e-Science Daniela Hensen Daniela.Hensen@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 413240
Cell biology Jennifer Swarbrick jennifer.swarbrick@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 413392
Crop science Harriet Trewin harriet.trewin@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 413190
Developmental biology To be confirmed bfh@bbsrc.ukri.org -
Diet and health (humans) Louisa Jenkin louisa.jenkin@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 413352
Ecosystems including agri-ecosystems Kirsty Dougal kirsty.dougal@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 413229
Engineering and physical sciences interface Peter Burlinson peter.burlinson@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 413393
Environmental science Debbie Harding debbie.harding@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 414653
Epigenetics Louisa Jenkin louisa.jenkin@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 413352
Facilities - Sequencing Jamie Parkin jamie.parkin@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 413202
Facilities - Computing Daniela Hensen Daniela.Hensen@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 413240
Facilities - STFC based Colin Miles colin.miles@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 413359
Food security Agriculture and Food Security Sector afs@bbsrc.ukri.org -
Food waste To be confirmed - -
Horticulture Harriet Trewin harriet.trewin@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 413190
Industrial biotechnology Roderick Westrop roderick.westrop@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 413332
Insect pollination Debbie Harding debbie.harding@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 414653
Livestock production Kirsty Dougal kirsty.dougal@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 413229
Immunology Melissa Lennartz-Walker melissa.lennartz-walker@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 442195
Mental health Melissa Lennartz-Walker melissa.lennartz-walker@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 442195
Microbial food safety (inc TSEs) To be confirmed - -
Microbiology Richard Brown richard.brown@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 413218
Multi-Scale Biology Jamie Parkin jamie.parkin@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 413202
Nanotechnology Daniela Hensen daniela.hensen@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 413240
Neuroscience and behaviour (including human psychology) Melissa Lennartz-Walker melissa.lennartz-walker@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 442195
Nutritional enhancement of crops/animals and food To be confirmed - -
Omic’s technologies: genomics, proteomics and metabolomics etc. Jamie Parkin jamie.parkin@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 413202
One health Ceri-Wyn Thomas ceri-wyn.thomas@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 413350
Pharmaceuticals Alex Amey alex.amey@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 413254
Plant science (including trees) Debbie Harding debbie.harding@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 414653
Regenerative biology Luke Williams luke.williams@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 413318
Soil science Debbie Harding debbie.harding@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 414653
Stem cells Luke Williams luke.williams@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 413318
Structural biology Jennifer Swarbrick jennifer.swarbrick@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 413318
Sustainable intensification of agriculture and food Kirsty Dougal kirsty.dougal@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 413229
Synthetic biology Jamie Parkin jamie.parkin@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 413202
Systematics and taxonomy Amanda Read amanda.read@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 414665
Systems biology Jamie Parkin jamie.parkin@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 413202
Technology and methods development Daniela Hensen daniela.hensen@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 413240
The 3 Rs (replacement, reduction and refinement of animals in research) Luke Williams luke.williams@bbsrc.ukri.org 01793 413318